Internet Security Threatened By Phishing Emails
Friday, March 4th, 2011Even with the best precautions, internet security is constantly being threatened by clever phishing emails which try and trap the unsuspecting surfer.
Internet security is vital for everyone, so being on guard against phishing emails is vital.
Take a recent email purporting to be from Adobe which got through a number of spam filters and at first sight looks quite genuine, but there are number of worrying points.
By the way, the author of this article has not tested the web link which was provided, and nor should any reader, so this email might well be genuine!
But let’s have a look at why, even if it was a genuine one, it should be kicked out.
It starts like this:
Dear x,
Adobe is pleased to announce that a new version of Acrobat PDF Reader was released today with new features, options and improvements.
Good start. But note the simple typeface and there was also no logos and picture accompanying the text (one way the spammers get it through the spam filters).
Next comes the call to action. The second paragraph started with an active hyperlink to the supposed Adobe website (removed here and shortened, and please do not use this link by cut and pasting it into your browser bar):
official-adobe-download.org
Firstly, never use an active hyperlink in an email. It’s easier just to click it and go straight through to the website concerned, but resist. If it concerns Adobe and interests you, either look for your own Adobe shortcut, or do a search for their main site. Never click on the link provided, because that is the classic trick.
See how the address is made up: official-adobe-download. That doesn’t smell right. Downloads are retrieved from the official Adobe site, which has a .com address (not a .org address as in the example given) and not from this website which is not even a second tier page, but a main Home Page (why does Adobe need a separate site for downloads)?
The conclusion is that this will link the unsuspecting user to a fake site which will then encourage the user to download not genuine Adobe software, but most probably a Trojan Horse which will then sit on the computer and begin its real purpose (stealing data).
The email then fleshes out the message to make it sound even more genuine. So this sensible list follows:
What’s new in this version :
- Read, search, and share PDF files.
- Convert to PDF.
- Export and edit PDF files
- Add rich media to PDF files
- Combine files from multiple applications
- Increase productivity and process consistency
- Streamline document reviews
- Collect data with fillable PDF forms
- Protect PDF files and content
- Comply with PDF and accessibility standards
All that is camouflage, before the link appears again, just in case you didn’t click it the first time (the classic second call to action).
To get more and upgrade to this version, go to : official-adobe-download.org
Now more window dressing to finish off the email:
Start downloading the update right now and let us know what you think about it.
We’re working on making Adobe Acrobat Reader better all the time !
Talk soon,
The people at Adobe
Copyright © 2011 Adobe Systems Incorporated. All rights reserved.
Chatty, relaxed and all the words spelt properly (apart from dubious ‘fillable’ in above list). A nice try and apologies to Adobe if this is genuine (of course, if they did sent it out, they should know better), but this sort of email can trick anyone, unless they follow the rules. Always be sceptical, look for the obvious (not quite right website addresses) and never, ever use an imbedded link in an email.
So, when it comes to internet security, always be a cynic!
Guest Article by Neil Camp



My name is Alan Potts and I'm the Editor of the Antivirus-BUYability web site and Managing Director of BUYability Limited. You can connect with me or keep up to date with new posts on this blog via the following social media sites: 








